Mobile Nav

Wildcat Community

Wildcat Community



Episcopal Yearbook and Literary Magazine Win Awards at ASPA

Literary Magazine

Special recognition goes to the staff of last year’s AND this year’s literary magazines for earning top honors in the annual Arkansas Scholastic Press Association competition. Last year’s magazine earned a superior rating in General Excellence, moving onto All Arkansas, the highest designation of excellence a program can receive at the state level.

This year’s staff submitted current works to the competition and received the following individual awards:

Excellent: Sarah Tennille (short story), Alexa Strauss (photography), and Sophie Sanders (art)

Honorable mention: Henry Jackson (poetry), David Wanjala (poetry), Kennedy Neal (personal narrative), Natalie Huckabay (page design), Sarah Tennille (cover design)

Onsite contests were held virtually in April, with students receiving prompts and instructions on April 6 and submitting finished entries on April 9. The following students won for their onsite entries:

Natalie Huckabay got first place (essay), Kennedy Neal got second place (personal narrative), and Sarah Tennille got second place (layout design).


This was a banner year for the yearbook staff as students won more awards than ever, winning something in all categories entered at this year’s annual Arkansas Scholastic Press Association competition. Last year’s yearbook earned an excellent rating in the General Excellence category.

This year’s staff submitted current work to the competition and received the following individual awards:

Superior: Gracie Coop & Garrison Brister (cover design), Grace Blackmon (portrait/people layout), Riley Brady (clubs/organizations layout), Haven Davis (academic layout), Elizabeth Grobmyer (sports layout), Mia Keck (special coverage), Aspen Smith (theme photograph), Aspen Smith (environmental photograph)

Best of ASPA: In addition to these amazing superiors, the staff earned FOUR best of ASPA awards, the highest designation in the state individual competition and the most ever won by our staff--congratulations Haven Davis, Elizabeth Grobmyer, and Aspen Smith, who won TWO Best of ASPA awards!

Excellent: Marissa Barone (clubs photograph), Victoria Bravo-Bowles (academic photograph), Garrison Brister (sports photograph), Gracie Coop (index layout), Ava Harrelson (student life layout), Lilly Randolph (student life photograph), Morgan Manning (student life copy)

Editors Gracie Coop and Garrison Brister also received an excellent in theme development, a very competitive category this year with few awards given.

Honorable Mention: Joel Fleming & John Robert Bateman (sports copy), Caroline Nalumansi & Juliet Occidental (clubs copy), Sarah Stewart (academic copy)

Ela Nolan won first place for advertising layout/design in the yearbook onsite competition.

Want to Learn More?

We would be happy to tell you more about Episcopal Collegiate, but the best to way to get to know us is by visiting in person. Come inside the gates, meet our teachers, visit our classrooms, and stroll our beautiful green campus. Our facilities are great, but our amazing students will impress you the most!

Schedule A Visit